New Year, New Challenge

3 Jan

First of all, I need to apologise; it’s been a while since I last posted. The truth is, following my blind date blog entry a month or so back, I was so overwhelmed by the phenomenal response I received that I felt whatever I wrote from that point forward just wouldn’t top it. You’re only as good as your last blog entry, after all, so I thought I’d enjoy my new-found blogger fame while it lasted.

A month on, however, and I’m just the loser who started a challenge and gave up. So, I decided it was time to make my return to the blogosphere and get cracking.

It’s January. Yes, that God-awful month when we all feel a few pounds heavier and a lot of dirhams lighter. It doesn’t really help that my ‘diet’ while on holiday in Cyprus read something a little like this:

Breakfast

Koummandaria (Cypriot port)

Lunch

Brandy Sours (Cyprus’ signature cocktail) and mulled wine

Dinner

Cuba Libras, Champagne and Baileys

Food also figured in there somewhere, I suppose

I have come back to Dubai with more than just excess baggage; the waistline has also expanded significantly. I feel it’s therefore an excellent time to start my ‘give up alcohol for a month’ challenge in a bid to find my waist again.

The relationship I share with alcohol is, to say the least, turbulent. See, the problem is, I can be one of two drunks. Drunk Andrea Type A is the kind of drunk everyone wants to be around. She’s funny, charming, daring and a damn good dancer. She’s also the type of drunk that can randomly end up on a plane heading to another country following one too many sherbets, should the opportunity arise. There’s no dare too big for Type A.

Then there’s Drunk Andrea Type B, aka the monster. Now, this is a person I would not even recognise should she ever come and say hello to sober me. She’s weepy, loud, obnoxious, ultra-hormonal and a complete nightmare to try and reason with. She’s the type of drunk whom one minute you see yelling at the bouncer, while the next she’s in a heap in the ladies’ toilets, pouring her heart out to random strangers and sitting in a puddle of spilt Long Island Ice Tea.

So, it’s also about time I give the world a rest from the possibility of encountering Drunk Andrea Type B. It’s the least I can do for humankind.

I have to say that despite what picture my Facebook account paints, I do not drink as much as I used to (yes, I’m sure you’re now all worried at just how much I USED to drink, if this is the case). However, when one of my dear friends suggested I try this challenge, I decided it would be a good exercise in self-discipline, as sadly, I lack in this quality.

I will be blogging about my trials and tribulations as I attempt to go for a whole month without a drink. I have to say that at the age of almost 29, I think the longest I’ve ever managed has been two weeks, and even that was always a struggle.

Just the thought of this is making me crave a Long Island.

Wish me luck.

7 Responses to “New Year, New Challenge”

  1. Muhammad Atif January 4, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    Looking at your facebook profile and track record it looks tricky on paper to quit alcohol for a month but lets see how you can hold on to this plan I personally don’t drink much alcohol so would accomplish something like this very easily.I have set my sights on something else:On giving up caffeine and resisting the morning cup of coffee that i am so addicted to .

    Good luck with the resolution and hopefully you havent had a long island ice tea by the time you read this 🙂

    • Angie_A January 4, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Have you started trying to give up caffeine, Muhammad?
      Thanks for the good luck – I think I’m going to need it! Although I am very interested to see how long I can last.

      • Muhammad Atif January 4, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

        Yes so far so good ,I have been able to go the whole week without caffeine.Might substitute green tea for coffee if can;t resit the urge. Weekend is coming so that will be a testing time for you.Have you hidden all the alcohol at home from yourself ?

  2. Ambre Membre January 4, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    So this is ure new challenge, quit alcohol for 1 month,well i will give you all my support.It can be good to try a virgin Long Island 🙂

    • Angie_A January 4, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      Haha – will you try and join me, Nico? 😉

  3. Alex Oliver January 4, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Good luck, sounds the ultimate challenge for you!

    • Angie_A January 4, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you, Alex! And thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

